Foo Fighters: Wasting Light

Good but not outstanding. That is what I think of the Foo Fighters new album, Wasting Light. A staple of the 90’s rock music scene, the Foo Fighters practically invented the punk tinged guitar riff vs. soft harmonic vocals formula. The music produced by that formula was great, but every formula has a limit. What hits me hardest is that for the seventh release of a seasoned group of musicians, Wasting Light could have been better, it could have pushed the boundaries. It’s not that the album is bad, the issue isn’t as cut and dry, its just that you’d hope they’d bring something new to 2011. If I wanted to listen to their old stuff, I would have stuck to my iTunes library. Don’t get me wrong, its not that their aren’t some gems, there are and they are posted below. The bummer is that the album as a whole isn’t a gem, or at the very least, a breath of fresh air. I was hoping one of my favorite childhood bands were to be freshly reincarnated as one of my favorite adulthood bands. Not so. Here’s to hoping for their next album. Links below.

Foo Fighters – Rope

Foo Fighters – Bridge Burning

Foo Fighters – I Should Have Known

About playthefield

Nothing in particular....
This entry was posted in Alternative, Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

